St John's Anglican Church
The Church of Saint John the Evangelist became Western Australia's first consecrated church on 25th October 1848 when Bishop Short led a ceremony attended by the entire town.
From original plans first drawn up in 1840, the church rapidly took shape using local stone, cut from Mount Clarence and handcrafted sheoak shingles. In 1849, the main bell, cast by Thos Meares of London who also cast Big Ben and bells of Westminster, was installed.
Today, St, John's Church continues as a living venue providing church services to the local community.
The Rectory, located just behind the church, was constructed in 1850 with the upper floor added in 1875. In 1884, work began on the Parish Hall, next door. This was completed 3 years later. The organ, built by Hill & Son at a cost of 160 pounds, was installed in 1891.
Other additions include the Crucifixion Window added in 1912, the Lady Chapel in 1961, the Sanctuary in 1968 and Tubular Bells installed recently in 2010.
Today, St, John's Church continues as both a historic church, with a rich history and tradition, and as a living venue providing church services to the local community. It's pleasant gardens make the St. John's a popular wedding venue, or for quiet contemplation in a restful setting.
Saint's John's Church is located on lower York Street in the centre of the city and is open to the public Monday to Saturday from 10 am till 2 pm.
Article updated 29/10/2016