Brig Amity Replica
The arrival of the Brig Amity in 1826 marks the beginning of European settlement in Western Australia.
In the early 1800's the New South Wales Government saw a need to establish a military outpost on the west coast to counter French ambitions. A settlement party was assembled and the Amity dispatched from Sydney on the 9th November 1826.
After a difficult 6 week journey through rough seas and the sweltering summer sun, the Amity arrived in King George Sound on December 25th, 1826.
On board were Major Edmund Lockyer, 19 soldiers, 23 convict tradesmen, a storekeeper, and the ship's own crew led by Lt. Colson Festing, together with supplies and equipment for 6 months, including sheep and pigs.
On December 26th, the party landed and began the settlement of Frederickstown, named in honour of Prince Frederick, Duke of York and Albany. Renamed 'Albany' in 1831, the settlement pre-dates Perth by 2 years.
The Amity continued life as a private vessel around Tasmania until she was wrecked in Bass Strait on an uncharted sandbank in 1845.
In 1972, the idea of an Amity Replica was proposed as the focal point of celebrations of the 150th anniversary of the Brig's arrival.
After much discussion, information sourced by historian Les Johnson and funding approved by Federal, State and local government, construction began in 1975.
The replica was built using designs, techniques and materials similar to those used in the early 1800s.
Local boat builder Stan Austin and shipwright Pieter van der Brugge lead the construction with help from a team of local craftsmen.
The replica was built using designs, techniques and materials similar to those used in the early 1800s. Natural bush timbers were sourced for many parts of the ship, with much time spent finding the right materials.
On board, an interactive audio tour helps you explore the fascinating history of WA's first settlement.
Article updated 02/09/2015.